Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WSU Postdoctoral and Research Professional Association

Welcome! We hope that this can be a landing spot for all WSU postdoctoral and research professionals.  WSU has over 100 Postdoctoral and Research Professionals spanning over every college and multiple campuses. Individually they help contribute to research and innovation at WSU. Together the PRPA offers support in building each member’s research and career.

 

If you have any suggestions or ideas, please feel free to contact Emily Brashear (emily.brashear@wsu.edu) or Balasaheb Sonawane (b.sonawane@wsu.edu).

 

President: Balasaheb Sonawane
Vice President: Shyam Solanki
Treasurer: Bharath Kurki Nagaraja
Communication & Community Engagement Officer: Courtney Kurinec


Funding Opportunities

 

PivotWith Pivot, you can easily explore new avenues for funding, view funding opportunities uniquely matched to your area of research, and collaborate with colleagues. Using your WSU ID you can create and save personalized search criteria and receive a weekly targeted funding email alert listing new opportunities in their research areas.

 

Find funding by using the Pivot database or check out the Postdoc Awards!


Announcements

Join the Postdoctoral and Research Professional Association listserv here.

 

Destination Europe 2020 in Seattle!

Saturday, February 13th
Seattle, WA
Hosted by the University of Washington

 

The event will showcase research career and funding opportunities throughout Europe for researchers at all stages of their careers, and there are many opportunities for post-docs. Since Destination Europe was launched in 2012, people who attended Destination Europe conferences have been very enthusiastic in their feedback on the events.

 

Click here to view the the program Participation is free but prior registration is essential at REGISTER NOW


Show your support to fellow PRPA presenters at the 2020 Academic Showcase!

The 2020 Academic Showcase is open to any research, scholarship, and creative work from the WSU community. That includes you!

Discover more at the Academic Showcase

Thursday, March 26, 2020
9 a.m. to noon
M.G. Carey Senior Ballroom, Compton Union Building


The Professional Development Initiative (PDI)

The Professional Development Initiative (PDI) provides a range of programs, training opportunities, and resources to graduate and professional students that will help prepare them for academic and career success.

Free for WSU faculty, staff, graduate, and professional students.

 

JANUARY
30 Tax Help for Graduate and Professional Students
| Dr. Richard Toolson, Department of Accounting

31 A Skill Worth Developing: Making Your Point in 30 SecondsPDI Goals
| Dr. Mary Sánchez Lanier, Assistant Vice Provost

 

FEBRUARY
5 Data Literacy: Busting Myths of Data I
| Dr. Nairanjana Dasgupta, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

12 Data Literacy: Busting Myths of Data II
| Dr. Nairanjana Dasgupta, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

14 Understanding Civil Rights Compliance in the Workplace and in Academia
| Holly Ashkannejhad, Office of Civil Rights Compliance and Investigation

14 Green Dot Training: Reducing Gender-Based Violence
| Dr. Karen Kelsky, The Professor Is In

Click here to check out the calendar of upcoming PDI events!

 


Lady with PlannerMark your calendars!!

PRPA next meeting:

March
11:00am
Lighty 280

 

~Speaker: TBA~

PRPA Meeting RSVP


Looking for free memberships?

Cheeky Scientist Cheeky Scientist: At WSU, we are committed to helping you develop the professional skills necessary to pursue your dream career. As such, we are delighted to announce a partnership with Cheeky Scientist to provide STEM PhD’s and post-docs with the opportunity to build the necessary skills to pursue a career in Industry.

As part of the partnership we are offering a limited number of spaces to the Cheeky Scientist Association online training platform.

 

 

the versatile PhDVersatile PhD: Versatile PhD helps graduate students and new PhDs envision, prepare for and excel in non-academic careers. Here you will find a wonderful online community, an overview of PhD careers, PhD-appropriate job listings and access to a database of nearly 90,000 members.


 

 

Member Highlight

Courtney Kurinec
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Ph.D. Baylor University, 2019
Email: courtney.kurinec@wsu.edu

 

Research Interests:

  • Memory
  • Decision making
  • Metacognition and learning

In my research, I focus on factors that can influence memory and decision making in diverse contexts. Specifically, I have investigated how factors such as cognitive load, stereotypes, and metacognitive ability affect the way people are able to recall information and the types of decisions they later make. I am currently working in the Affective and Cognitive Influences of Decisions (ACID) Lab to explore how sleep restriction affects memory and decision making.

Who else is apart of WSU PRPA? 

This is a current list of Postdoctoral and Research Professionals within WSU.
NameEmailTitleDepartment
Ilyas Unluilyas.unlu@wsu.eduPostdoctoral Research AssociateChemistry
Balasaheb Sonawaneb.sonawane@wsu.eduPostdoctorate School of Biological Sciences
Kuenzang Omkuenzang.om@wsu.eduResearch InternSchool of Biological Sciences
Dennis Nicuh Lozadaden.lozada@wsu.eduPostdoctoral Research Associate Crop and Soil Sciences
Mingzhu Lulu.ming-zhu@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate School of Biological Sciences
Eric Nilsson nilsson@wsu.edu Research Associate Professor School of Biological Sciences
Bharath Kurki Nagaraja bharath.nagaraja@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Composite Material and Engineering Center
Hari Kiran Kotapati hari.kotapati@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Institute of Biological Chemistry
Nate Law nathan_law@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate School of Molecular Biosciences
Karl Alcover k.alcover@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Medical Education and Clinical Sciences
Amit Sharma amit.sharma2@wsu.eduPostdoctoral Research Associate Department of Civil Engineering
Yibo Huangfu yibo.huangfu@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Civil and Environmental Engineering
Shaoqu Xie shaoqu.xie@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Courtney Kurinec courtney.kurinec@wsu.eduPostdoctoral Research Associate Psychology
Daniel Mulendore mullendore@wsu.edu Staff Scientist Franceschi Microscopy and Imaging Center
Nalok Dutta nalok.dutta@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Bioproducts Science & Engineering Laboratory
Chenxi Wang chenxi.wang@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Bioproducts Science & Engineering Laboratory
Camille Wendlandt camille.wendlandt@gmail.com Postdoctoral Research Associate School of Biological Sciences
Kathiresan Selvam kathir.selvam@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Researcher School of Molecular Biosciences
Miao Wen miao.wen@wsu.edu PhD graduate Civil and Environmental Engineering
Mohammadali Azadfar mohammadali.azadfar@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Composite Materials and Engineering Center
Jessica Waite jessica.waite@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Horticulture
Carmella Vizza Carmella.vizza@gmail.com Postdoctoral Research Associate School of the Environment
Solmaz Amiri solmaz.amiri@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Nutrition and Exercise Physiology
Sean Mossman sean.mossman@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Physics
Zhongming Gao zhongming.gao@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Civil and Environmental Engineering
Katalin Korpany katalin.korpany@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Chemistry
Maren Mossman maren.mossman@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Physics
John Drazin John.drazin@wsu.edu Assistant Research Professor Mechanical and Materials Engineering
Mailea Miller-Pierce M.miller-pierce@wsu.edu Postdoctorate Biology
Rishikesh Ghogare rishikesh.ghogare@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Horticulture
Cassandra Nikolaus cassandra.nikolaus@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Institute for Research and Education to Advance Community Health (IREACH)
Shyam Solanki shyam.solanki@wsu.edu Post Doctoral Research Associate Crop and Soil Sciences
Prabu Gnanasekaran prabubc@gmail.comPost Doctoral Research Associate Plant Pathology
Ánjali Rai anjalirules22@gmail.com Post Doctoral Research Associate Crop and Soil Sciences
Shagufta Perveen shagufta06@yahoo.com Research Fellow Plant Pathology
Romana Iftikhar romana.iftikhar@wsu.edu Post Doctoral Research Associate Plant Pathology
Anjali Krishnan anjali.krishnan@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Food Science/ IAREC
Ben Vernasco ben.vernasco@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Researcher School of Biological Sciences
Sapinder Bali sapinder.bali@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Plant Pathology
Ashley Railey ashley.railey@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Institute for Research and Education to Advance Community Health (IREACH)
Marina Savenkova marina@wsu.edu Postdoctoral Research Associate Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience

Become a part of the PRPA family!

Please fill out this form to be included in any future communication.

Postdoctoral & Research Professional